Difference between Guest Mode and Incognito Mode in Chrome

Google Chrome has some cool features that everyone should take advantage of whenever they find the chance. For example, there is an Incognito Mode for those who want to browse privately, and then there is a Guest Mode that is also designed to keep things private from other guest users who may want access to your browser.

Difference between Guest and Incognito Mode in Chrome

Today, we are going to talk about the similarities and differences between the two modes, and which one you should be using on a regular basis. These two functions are very important if you care about privacy, but please bear in mind that they cannot completely solve privacy issues when browsing the web.

What is Guest Mode in Google Chrome

A Guest Mode is something that every web browser should have in its feature-list. Instead of allowing guests to use your profile where they might end up looking through your history, among other things, simply open Guest Mode and deliver to them a blank slate.

We like this option because it does not save browsing history, and all extensions are disabled. Additionally, while in this mode, the user has no ability to change Google Chrome settings. In fact, they are not even allowed to look at the Settings are.

In order to open Guest Mode, launch Google Chrome then click on the profile picture section at the top-right corner of the browser. Under the section that says Other People, please select Guest, and from there, start a new Guest Mode session.

Let us explain Incognito Mode in Google Chrome

By now we assume you have heard of Incognito mode where Chrome is concerned. For other browsers, this feature is simply called Private Browsing. This feature is not new since it has been around for multiple years now.

OK, so when you’re browsing via an Incognito Mode window, the web browser will not save any information about the session, and that includes your history. Not only that, but there is also no option to re-open previously closed tabs by using Ctrl + Shift + T.

Difference between Guest Mode and Incognito Mode in Chrome

Extensions are usually disabled unless they are manually allowed to work while Chrome is in Incognito.

Note that your browsing is not kept private while in this mode, which means, you will still be tracked by trackers on the web. Furthermore, your Internet Service Provider (ISP) and Administrator can still see your browsing history with ease.

The differences between Google Chrome Guest Mode and Incognito

Both are quite similar in execution when it comes down to erasing all trace of your web browsing history, but they are used for different purposes. You see, Incognito Mode was designed for your own personal use, and on your own computer.

Guest Mode, on the other hand, was designed primarily for use by a third-party when you want to protect your information from being accessed.

I hope this helped.

Source link

Jacob MORRIS

Jacob MORRIS

MORRIS is an impassioned technology writer. He always inspires technologists with his innovative thinking and practical approach. A go-to personality for every Technical problem, no doubt, the chief problem-solver!

Leave a Reply